Valentino Spring Couture 2014

As I was getting over my sadness of reading this yahoo article today: http://shine.yahoo.com/fashion/chanel-39-4-000-sneakers-pumped-kicks-fashion-202700153.html (HINT, MY BELOVED CHANEL TRAINERS COST $4,000), I finally had time to study Valentino. While I was looking for it to give me hope and happiness again, I found myself to be rather disappointed. It all made me miss Valentino, Giammetti and most importantly, the pugs.

I love Valentino- I’ve always said it’s one of my favorite fashion houses. Valentino gowns know a woman’s body like an OBGYN. That being said, the silhouettes, the fit, the craftsmanship- flawless per usual. I love the “55 dresses for 55 operas” theme- brilliant. The over all designs, color story and styling? Disappointed.

I get the whole “dark romance” thing- not all dresses have to be pink and red with hearts to display romance. However, I was disappointed to see how cold this collection was- not one inch of the always anticipated Valentino red. Not a fan of the short tulle skirted dresses- reminds me too much of that God-awful Swan dress Bjork wore to the Oscars in 2001.

All that being said- it still is Valentino, and many of the dresses did not disappoint- the ones I loved are below. It may have not been my favorite collection, but I’ll always have a bright, burning Valentino-red  love for the house.

v1 v2 v3 v4 v5 v6 v7 v8 v9 v10 v11

I mean….am I alone on this, or no?

The 73rd Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals v12

BRING BACK THE PUGS!!

valentinopug

Props to style.com for photos

 

Leave a Reply

